Originally founded as a radio station, BigCityBeats GmbH is now one of the most successful event brands in Germany. The company has been operating worldwide for 15 years now. No matter if it is about events in big cities, at sea or even in weightlessness. BigCityBeats is particularly present in the music and club scene.

Briefing

In order to adequately celebrate the start of the World Club Dome – the largest club in the world organized by BigCityBeats in festival format – a unique, record-breaking event was designed: the ZERO G flight. 50 VIPs and astronauts took off to celebrate in zero gravity on a so-called parabolic flight on a plane to their favorite music.

This year’s motto was „PLATINUM Edition“ – after the breathtaking VIP area of the WORLD CLUB DOME. In order to fill the motto with life, stars from the DJs scene were invited to create the right mood among the internationally prominent guests.

POOLgroup’s task was to create a real club experience with a spectacular lighting and sound system concept.

Job

For this event at an altitude of 8,500 m, the Zero-G Airbus A310, which is otherwise used for scientific research purposes and training flights by ESA, had to be completely redesigned. We only had two days for this. In order to convey the club atmosphere to the visitors in this environment, POOLgroup had planned the right lighting and sound technology that had to be built into the aircraft.

The lighting concept included, among other things, movable lights that were attached to the side of the interior and under the ceiling of the Airbus and created a dance floor atmosphere.

Numerous speakers and subwoofers distributed in the fuselage were responsible for powerful beats and all-round sound reinforcement.

Robert Sommer, Manager Touring & Entertainment, reports: “The installation of the event technology in the Zero-G Airbus A300 made almost unique demands on the equipment used. From the planning of the light show on board to the quality of the sound system, taking into account the artificially generated cabin pressure, to the extreme safety requirements – everything had to be 100% accurate to offer the participants a perfect event. In this context, the systems from LD Systems and Cameo have once again demonstrated their excellent reputation.

Result

The Zero G flight is an event that goes down in history. Several records were broken during this year’s flight: the first salad dressing was created in zero gravity, a musician played the trumpet for the first time in zero gravity and a football star effortlessly scored the first goal – at a height of over eight kilometers.

The event was a complete success for both the guests and for POOLgroup. Bernd Breiter, Managing Director of BigCityBeats GmbH, was correspondingly satisfied: “The World Club Dome Zero-G flight was the spectacular starting signal for this year’s BigCityBeats World Club Dome season. The line-up was top notch across the board – from VIPs to the global DJ community, ESA’s European astronauts and our partners and sponsors.(…)

Your consultants for
Touring & Entertainment

Robert
Sommer

Manager Touring & Entertainment

+49 2572920182
robert.sommer@pool.de

Julian
Twent

Junior Manager Touring & Entertainment

+49 2572920137
julian.twent@pool.de

Der Kunde: Big City Beats

Ursprünglich als Radiosender gegründet, gehört die BigCityBeats GmbH heute zu den erfolgreichsten Veranstaltungsmarken Deutschlands. Seit mittlerweile 15 Jahren ist das Unternehmen weltweit tätig. Egal ob es um Veranstaltungen in großen Städten, auf dem Meer oder sogar in der Schwerelosigkeit geht. BigCityBeats ist dabei insbesondere in der Musik- und Clubszene präsent.

Die Aufgabe 

Um den Auftakt zum World Club Dome – dem von BigCityBeats ausgerichteten größten Club der Welt im Festivalformat – angemessen zu zelebrieren, wurde ein einzigartiges, rekordträchtiges Event konzipiert: der ZERO G Flug. 50 VIPs und Astronauten hoben ab, um auf einem so genannten Parabelflug schwerelos in einem Flugzeug zu ihrer Lieblingsmusik zu feiern.

Das diesjährige Motto lautete „PLATINUM Edition“ – nach dem gleichnamigen atemberaubenden VIP-Bereich des WORLD CLUB DOME. Um das Motto mit Leben zu füllen, wurden Stars der DJs-Szene eingeladen, die für die richtige Stimmung unter den international prominenten Gästen sorgten.

Die POOLgroup hatte dabei die Aufgabe, mit einem spektakulären Licht- und Beschallungskonzept echtes Cluberlebnis zu schaffen.

Die Umsetzung

Für diese Veranstaltung in 8.500 m Höhe musste der Zero-G-Airbus A310, der sonst für wissenschaftliche Forschungszwecke und Trainingsflüge der ESA genutzt wird, komplett neu ausgestattet werden. Dafür hatten wir gerade einmal zwei Tage Zeit. Um den Besuchern in dieser Umgebung Club-Atmosphäre zu vermitteln, hatte die POOLgroup so einiges an Licht- und Tontechnik eingeplant, die in das Flugzeug eingebaut werden musste.

Zum Lichtkonzept gehörten unter anderem bewegliche Leuchten, die seitlich im Innenraum und unter der Decke des Airbus’ angebracht wurden und für Dancefloor-Stimmung sorgten.

Für druckvolle Beats und die Rundum-Beschallung waren zahlreiche im Flugzeugrumpf verteilte Lautsprecher und Subwoofer verantwortlich.

Robert Sommer, Manager Touring & Entertainment, berichtet von der Umsetzung: „Die Installation der Eventtechnik im Zero-G-Airbus A300 stellte nahezu einzigartige Anforderungen an das verwendete Equipment. Von der Planung der Lichtshow an Bord über die Qualität der Beschallung, unter Berücksichtigung des künstlich erzeugten Kabinendrucks, bis zu den extremen Sicherheitsanforderungen – alles musste 100%ig sitzen, um den Teilnehmern ein perfektes Event zu bieten. In diesem Rahmen haben die Systeme von LD Systems und Cameo ihren exzellenten Ruf einmal mehr unter Beweis gestellt.“

Das Ergebnis

Der Zero-G-Flug ist ein Event, das in die Geschichte eingeht. Mehrere Rekorde konnten beim diesjährigen Flug gebrochen werden: So wurde das erste Salat-Dressing in der Schwerelosigkeit kreiert, ein Musiker spielte zum ersten Mal bei Null-Gravitation Trompete und ein Fußballstar schoss schwerelos das erste Tor – in über acht Kilometern Höhe.

Die Veranstaltung war sowohl für die Gäste als auch für die POOLgroup ein voller Erfolg. Bernd Breiter, Geschäftsführer der BigCityBeats GmbH, war entsprechend zufrieden:„Der World Club Dome Zero-G-Flug war der spektakuläre Startschuss für die diesjährige BigCityBeats World Club Dome Saison. Das Line-up war durch die Bank hochkarätig – von den VIPs über die globale DJ-Community, die europäischen Astronauten der ESA bis zu unseren Partnern und Sponsoren. (…)“